Log in

ISM News

IS&T Announces New Board Members

16 Jul, 2008

IS&T Announces New Board Members

Springfield, Virginia, July 1, 2008 – The Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T) is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members to its Board of directors: Raja Bala, Graham Finlayson, and Masahiro Hosoya.

Raja Bala, Vice President
Currently a Principal Color Scientist involved with research and development in color science and device color management at Xerox Corporation, Bala received his PhD in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University. He served as an adjunct faculty member in the School of Electrical Engineering at Rochester Institute of Technology from 2003-2005; was part of a Xerox research team that received the R&D Magazine 100 Award for Specialty Imaging technology in 2007; has authored or co-authored two book chapters and more than 50 conference and journal publications; and holds 48 US patents in the area of color imaging.

Bala has been an active member of IS&T for many years, notably involved with the organization of its Color Imaging Conference, where he has served as short course, technical program, and general chair. Bala was on the IS&T Honors and Awards committee member (2007) and served as chair for 2008. He is currently an Associate Editor for the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology.

Graham Finlayson, Vice President
A Professor in the School of Computing Sciences at the University of East Anglia (UK) for the past nine years, Finlayson received his BSc in computer science from the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, Scotland, and his MSc and PhD from Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, Canada, where his dissertation was awarded a Dean's medal for academic excellence. From 1995 to 1997, Finlayson was a lecturer in the Department of Computer Science at the University of York (UK). In 1997, he was appointed to a readership at the University of Derby, where he was a founding member of the Colour & Imaging Institute.

Finlayson is interested in how color can be used to solve problems in computer vision and allied disciplines such as image processing and digital photography. He has made many contributions toward solving the color constancy problem (removing color bias due to illumination from images) and his algorithms have been implemented in commercial cameras. His current research interests include dynamic range compression, the automated removal of shadows in images, photometric invariance, and the application of computational techniques to the understanding of human vision. As well as being an academic, Finlayson is the chief technical office of Im-Sense Ltd which is a company spun out of the University of East Anglia in 2006. Finlayson has served as a Technical Chair for CGIV, the European Conference on Color in Graphics Imaging and Vision and as General Co-chair for the 9th Color Imaging Conference in 2001.

Masahiro Hosoya, Vice President
A Chief Fellow in the Toshiba Corporation R&D Center Masahiro Hosoya in Kawasaki, Japan, Hosoya received his MS and DE degrees from Tokyo Institute of Technology and was a visiting scientist in the department of physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1991 to 1993. He joined Toshiba in 1979 and has been engaged in the research and development of imaging technologies since then. Hosoya was awarded the Purple Ribbon Medal by the government of Japan in 2007 for his work in electrophotography; the Chester F. Carlson Award from IS&T in 2004; Best Paper Awards in 1994 and 2006, the Technology Award in 1997, and the Progressive Award in 1991 from the Imaging Society of Japan (ISJ); and Invention Awards in 2002, 2003, and 2006.
Re-elected and continuing terms

The following members were re-elected to the Board:
Ramon Borrell (Xaar plc , Cambridge, UK), Secretary
David S. Weiss (Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, New York), Treasurer (formerly held VP)
Franziska Frey (Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, New York), Publications VP

Continuing to serve their two-year term are:
Eric Hanson (Hewlett-Packard Company, Palo Alto, CA), President
Rita Hofmann (ILFORD Imaging Switzerland GmbH, Marly, Switzerland), Executive VP
Robert Buckley (Xerox Corporation, Webster, NY), IS&T Conference VP
Continuing on the Board for the 2008-2009 term are:
Choon-Woo Kim (Inha University, Incheon, Korea), Vice President
Michael Kriss (MAK Consulting, Camus, WA), Vice President
Ross Mills (iTi Corp., Boulder, CO), Vice President
James R. Milch (Carestream Health Inc., Rochester, NY), Immediate Past President

Individuals are elected to a term of two-years; terms commence July 1. All positions may be held for two two-year terms, with the exception of the President.

The Society for Imaging Science and Technology is an international, professional non-profit dedicated to keeping members and others apprised of the latest developments in fields related to imaging science through conferences, educational programs, publications, and its website. IS&T encompasses all aspects of imaging, with particular emphasis on digital printing, electronic imaging, color science, photofinishing, image preservation, silver halide, pre-press technology, and hybrid imaging systems. For more information, visit www.imaging.org. Based outside of Washington, DC, the Society serves more than 5,000 imaging professionals throughout the world.

WebinarCase Studies and White PapersSand Exchange Blog

imageSource Magazine Quick Links
Upcoming Events
ITEX Expo & Conference
©2015 Questex, LLC. All rights reserved
Reproduction in whole or part is prohibited
Please send any technical comments or questions to our webmaster